Banking & Payments
Asaan account: what it is, its limits and which bank to open it with
What an Asaan account is, SBP's limits of Rs 3 million balance and Rs 1 million a month, the documents you need, and how HBL, Meezan, Alfalah and NBP offer it.
Banking & Payments · Money
Digital account opening at HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied and Bank Alfalah: what you need, SBP's 2-day rule, Asaan Digital limits and how each bank works.
AI Summary
Yes, you can open a bank account online in Pakistan with a CNIC. Under SBP's July 2025 framework, banks must accept or decline your application within two working days and give you a tracking ID. You need a SIM registered in your name, a live photo and NADRA biometric verification, often done in the app. An Asaan Digital Account needs no income proof and is capped at Rs 3 million balance and Rs 1 million debits a month. HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied and Bank Alfalah all offer it.
Yes, you can open a bank account online in Pakistan without visiting a branch. Digital account opening needs your CNIC, a mobile SIM registered in your own name, a live photo and NADRA biometric verification, which many banks do inside their app. Under SBP’s July 2025 rules, the bank must accept or decline your application within two working days of getting complete documents. HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied Bank and Bank Alfalah all offer it.
Asaan Digital Account limits (SBP, July 2025)
Rs 3 million balance · Rs 1 million debits a month
The regulatory ceiling under SBP's Consolidated Customer Onboarding Framework. Some bank pages still show the older Rs 1 million balance cap; your bank must tell you its limits during sign-up.
Yes. On 25 July 2025, the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) issued a Consolidated Customer Onboarding Framework and said customers can now open all types of accounts through digital means. It lets banks open accounts through a website, a mobile app, a digital kiosk or another approved digital channel.
Digital opening is only for people with a CNIC, NICOP, POC, POR or ARC. The same rules cover banks, microfinance banks, digital banks and electronic money institutions (EMIs, such as wallet apps).
The framework replaced SBP’s 2022 digital onboarding rules. That is why some bank pages still show older limits and timelines, covered below.
What you need depends on the account type.
| Account | What you provide |
|---|---|
| Asaan Digital Account | CNIC, live photo, and a self-declaration of residency, source of income or funds and beneficial ownership instead of income documents |
| Regular digital current or savings account | CNIC and live photo, plus proof of profession and source of income or funds from SBP’s list |
| Freelancer digital account | Opened with a linked foreign currency account (ESFCA); see below |
Bank pages add their own details:
Banks must also record the location or IP address of the device you apply from. Meezan’s app asks you to turn on location as its first step.
SBP’s 2025 rules require NADRA biometric verification before an account opens. It can be a fingerprint, iris or facial check, done in the app, at a branch or by another approved method. Facial recognition applies once NADRA’s facial check is working.
The bank also takes a live photo and matches it with the picture on your ID. If biometrics aren’t possible, for example because of a disability, unclear fingerprints or age over 60, SBP sets a fallback order:
SBP’s ceiling is two working days from the time the bank has your complete documents. The bank must give you a tracking ID, and if it declines, it must tell you why in writing. You can also save an online application and come back to it within 30 days without starting again.
Banks make faster claims. Meezan says accounts open instantly, subject to checks, and cases needing extra checks within 2 working days. MCB says its account opens in minutes. UBL emails your account number once your details are verified. Treat these as the banks’ claims and two working days as the limit SBP enforces.
All six of the banks we checked do, through either an app or a web portal, as of October 2026.
| Bank | Where you apply | Asaan Digital limit shown by the bank | Opening deposit | Existing customers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HBL | Web portal (digitalonboarding.hbl.com) | Rs 3 million balance, Rs 1 million debits a month | Not stated | Asaan Digital is new-to-bank only |
| UBL | Browser on laptop or phone (Chrome recommended) | FAQ says Rs 1 million; banner says Rs 3 million | None | Asaan Digital is new customers only |
| MCB | MCB Live app | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Meezan | Meezan Digital app | Rs 1 million (August 2025 page) | None | New customers only |
| Allied Bank | Online portal from abl.com | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bank Alfalah | RAPID web portal | Rs 3 million balance, Rs 1 million debits a month | No minimum balance | Not stated |
Where a bank shows a lower limit than SBP’s Rs 3 million, it is the older 2022 cap. SBP requires every bank to tell you the limits on your account during sign-up, so check that screen.
Account types on offer:
Comparing the banks themselves on fees, branches and apps? See the best bank in Pakistan and Meezan Bank vs other banks.
Meezan’s August 2025 page lists these steps in the Meezan Digital app:
If the in-app biometric fails, Meezan’s 2024 FAQ says you need to provide a CNIC scan or photo. You can request a debit card in the app, at a branch or through the helpline 021-111-331-331. To collect a cheque book, you need your original CNIC and a signature specimen.
Bank Alfalah’s RAPID portal follows a shorter outline: apply, upload your ID and other documents, the bank verifies, then you get an activation confirmation.
Yes, at several banks. UBL’s Asaan Digital Account needs no initial deposit and has no minimum balance. Meezan’s Digital Asaan Account needed no initial deposit as of August 2025. Bank Alfalah’s Asaan Digital Current Account has no minimum balance and a free first cheque book, SMS alerts and e-statements.
HBL, MCB and Allied Bank’s pages don’t state an opening deposit. Card and other fees follow each bank’s schedule of charges, which we didn’t check for this guide.
Under SBP’s 2025 framework, an Asaan account (opened digitally or in person) is:
You can convert an Asaan Digital Account into a regular digital account later, after the bank does extra checks. The bank must allow this. Under the old 2022 rules, the balance cap was Rs 1 million, which is the figure still shown on UBL’s FAQ and Meezan’s 2025 page.
Yes. Under SBP’s 2025 framework, a freelancer account is a rupee account opened together with an Exporter’s Special Foreign Currency Account (ESFCA), a foreign currency account at a bank authorised to deal in foreign exchange. You can’t withdraw foreign currency cash in Pakistan from the ESFCA.
HBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied Bank and Bank Alfalah list freelancer accounts for digital opening. Meezan’s 2024 FAQ says its Digital Freelancer Account doesn’t need SIM verification. For how this fits with Payoneer, Wise and other payout routes, see freelancer payment methods in Pakistan and dollar accounts in Pakistan.
More guides: digital banks in Pakistan, NayaPay vs SadaPay, Banking & Payments, Money.
Yes. SBP's July 2025 framework lets banks open accounts through websites and apps for CNIC holders, and HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied and Bank Alfalah all offer it. You need a SIM registered in your own name, a live photo and NADRA biometric verification, which can be done in the app.
For an Asaan Digital Account, usually just your CNIC, plus a live photo and a self-declaration instead of income proof. Regular digital current or savings accounts also need proof of profession and source of income or funds: UBL asks for proof of income, and Meezan for source of income and proof of funds.
SBP requires banks to accept or decline an individual's application within two working days of receiving complete documents, and to give you a tracking ID. Meezan says its accounts open instantly, subject to checks, and MCB says minutes, but two working days is the ceiling SBP sets.
Under SBP's 2025 framework, an Asaan account can hold up to Rs 3 million and allows Rs 1 million of debits a month, with no commercial remittances. Some bank pages still show the older Rs 1 million balance cap, so check the limit the bank shows you during sign-up.
Not through these products. Meezan's digital app accounts, UBL's Asaan Digital Account and HBL's Asaan Digital Account are for new-to-bank customers only.
Photo by Atlantic Money on Unsplash