Banking & Payments
Asaan account: what it is, its limits and which bank to open it with
What an Asaan account is, SBP's limits of Rs 3 million balance and Rs 1 million a month, the documents you need, and how HBL, Meezan, Alfalah and NBP offer it.
Banking & Payments · Money
ATM withdrawal charges, IBFT fees, debit card annual fees and SMS alert charges at 7 big banks and easypaisa, from their July to December 2026 schedules.
AI Summary
Withdrawing cash from another bank's ATM costs Rs 35 per withdrawal at HBL, UBL, MCB, Allied, Meezan, Bank Alfalah and NBP, as of their July to December 2026 schedules. The fee rose from Rs 23.44 on 1 August 2025. The first Rs 25,000 of transfers to other banks each month is free, then 0.1% or Rs 200, whichever is lower. Raast is free. Non-filers pay 0.8% tax when cash withdrawals pass Rs 50,000 in a day.
ATM withdrawal charges at another bank’s ATM are Rs 35 per withdrawal at HBL, UBL, MCB, Allied, Meezan, Bank Alfalah and NBP, as of their July to December 2026 schedules. Most of them charge nothing at their own ATMs. Transfers to other banks (IBFT) are free up to Rs 25,000 a month, then 0.1% or Rs 200, whichever is lower. Raast transfers are free.
Cash from another bank's ATM
Rs 35 per withdrawal
Same at all 7 banks we checked, July to December 2026 schedules. It was Rs 23.44 until 31 July 2025. Some banks quote it including FED and some excluding it: see the table below.
All 7 banks list Rs 35 for a cash withdrawal at another bank’s ATM. The table shows each bank’s own figure and whether its schedule says the fee includes tax.
FED is the federal excise duty; some schedules also mention provincial sales tax. When a bank quotes a fee “excluding FED”, tax can be added on top, so its Rs 35 is not directly comparable with a Rs 35 that already includes tax.
| Bank | Own ATM | Other bank’s ATM | Balance inquiry at other ATM | Tax in these figures |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HBL | Free | Rs 35 | Rs 4.67 | Includes FED/sales tax |
| UBL | Free | Rs 35 | Rs 4.67 | Not stated |
| MCB | Not listed | Rs 35 | Rs 4.67 | Includes FED/sales tax |
| Allied Bank | Free | Rs 35 | Rs 5.29 | Includes FED |
| Meezan Bank | Free | Rs 35 | Rs 4.67 | Excludes FED and sales tax |
| Bank Alfalah | Free | Rs 35 (no receipt) | Rs 9.34 with receipt | Excludes FED/sales tax |
| NBP | Free | Rs 35 | Rs 4.67 | Not stated |
| easypaisa (wallet card) | Free at easypaisa Bank branch ATMs | Rs 35, any amount | Not listed | Includes tax and 1LINK charges |
Sources: each bank’s July to December 2026 schedule; easypaisa’s October to December 2026 branchless banking schedule. “Not stated” means the ATM rows in that schedule don’t say whether tax is included.
A printed receipt can cost extra. HBL charges Rs 3.13 for a receipt at its own ATMs and Rs 4.67 at other banks’ ATMs; UBL charges Rs 3.75 at its own ATMs and Rs 4.67 elsewhere.
Some accounts waive the fee. HBL gives free other-bank ATM withdrawals on HBL @Work accounts and on HBL Freedom accounts that keep a monthly average balance of Rs 40,000 or more, as of its July to December 2026 schedule.
We didn’t find a similar waiver for the other banks in the rows we checked. If you withdraw often, the simplest saving is to use your own bank’s ATM, which is free at HBL, UBL, Allied, Meezan, Bank Alfalah and NBP.
On 1 August 2025, according to MCB Islamic Bank’s addendum. It says 1LINK revised its ATM charges, and the fee at 1LINK member banks’ ATMs went from Rs 23.44 (valid until 31 July 2025) to Rs 35.
Mettis Global reported the same rise in July 2025 and dated it to that month. We follow the bank’s own addendum, which says the change took effect in August.
IBFT is an interbank fund transfer: money you send from your bank to an account at a different bank. SBP’s PSD Circular 02 of 2021 sets the rule for individual customers:
The rule covers banks, microfinance banks and EMIs (electronic money institutions, such as wallet apps). It has applied since 1 July 2021, and banks may not cap the number of transfers except for genuine fraud or money-laundering concerns.
| Bank | Free each month | Above that | Tax in these figures |
|---|---|---|---|
| HBL (ATM, app, WhatsApp, branch) | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Includes FED/sales tax |
| UBL (ATM, app, net banking) | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Includes FED/sales tax |
| MCB | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Includes FED/sales tax |
| Allied Bank (ATM, myABL) | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Includes FED |
| Meezan Bank | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Excludes FED and sales tax |
| NBP (app, internet banking) | Below Rs 25,000 (schedule doesn’t say “a month”) | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Not stated |
| easypaisa (wallet) | Rs 25,000 | 0.1% or Rs 200, lower | Not stated |
At 0.1%, the Rs 200 cap is reached on a transfer of Rs 200,000. So above the free amount, a Rs 50,000 transfer costs up to Rs 50, and anything over Rs 200,000 costs up to Rs 200.
Branch transfers can cost more. UBL charges a flat Rs 200 for an IBFT at a branch, and Bank Alfalah charges Rs 200 per branch transfer, including tax. We couldn’t find a row for IBFT through the Alfa app on a regular Bank Alfalah account, so it isn’t in the table.
Yes. SBP’s Raast FAQs say there are currently no charges for sending or receiving money through Raast. UBL, MCB and Allied Bank also list Raast transfers as free in their July to December 2026 schedules.
You can send a Raast payment to a Raast ID or an IBAN, through your bank’s app, internet banking, USSD or a branch, depending on the bank. Because Raast is free and IBFT isn’t above Rs 25,000, Raast is the cheaper route for large transfers when your bank offers it. See our Raast guide for how to set it up.
Under section 231AB of the Income Tax Ordinance, banks deduct 0.8% advance tax from people not on FBR’s Active Taxpayers’ List (ATL, the list of filers) when their total cash withdrawals in a day exceed Rs 50,000. FBR’s rate card under the Finance Act 2026 lists no rate for people on the ATL.
The Rs 50,000 counts all your cash withdrawals in a single day added together. The rate was 0.6% when the section was added in 2023 and became 0.8% under the Finance Act 2025.
Debit card fees vary far more than ATM fees. The table shows the cheapest PayPak card and the entry-level Visa card each bank lists, as of July to December 2026. Here, too, some banks quote fees before tax and some after.
| Bank | PayPak card, a year | Entry Visa card, a year | Tax in these figures |
|---|---|---|---|
| HBL | Rs 2,000 (PayPak Chip) | Rs 3,000 (Visa Chip) | Excludes FED/sales tax |
| UBL | Rs 2,000 | Rs 2,900 (Visa Premium) | Excludes government levies |
| MCB | Rs 2,200 (PayPak Classic) | Rs 3,300 (Visa Silver) | Excludes FED/sales tax |
| Allied Bank | Rs 2,200 (UPI PayPak Basic) | Rs 3,000 (Visa Classic) | Not stated |
| Meezan Bank | Rs 2,500 | Rs 3,500 (Visa Classic) | Excludes FED and sales tax |
| Bank Alfalah | Rs 3,000 | Rs 3,800 (Visa Classic) | Excludes FED/sales tax |
| NBP | Rs 2,000 (PayPak Classic) | No Visa card listed; UnionPay Classic Rs 2,500 | Excludes FED |
| easypaisa | Rs 1,000 to issue | Rs 1,000 to issue | Includes tax |
A few details that change what you pay:
Replacing a lost card costs Rs 600 (PayPak Chip) or Rs 850 (Visa Chip) at HBL, and Rs 1,800 at UBL. We couldn’t find HBL’s issuance fee, separate from the annual fee, in its schedule.
SBP’s 2021 circular says you must get a free SMS after every digital transaction, showing the amount and any charge taken. The fees below are for alerts on branch or over-the-counter transactions.
| Bank | SMS alerts for branch transactions | Tax in these figures |
|---|---|---|
| HBL | Rs 325 a month | Not stated |
| UBL | Rs 250 a month | Plus FED |
| MCB | Rs 250 a month (Rs 135 for Asaan accounts) | Not stated |
| Allied Bank | Rs 250 a month (current), Rs 425 a month (savings) | Not stated |
| Meezan Bank | Rs 2,800 a year | Excludes FED and sales tax |
| Bank Alfalah | Rs 250 a month (Rs 300 including Alfa transactions) | Plus FED |
| NBP | Free | Not applicable |
HBL exempts several account types from its Rs 325 fee, including HBL @Work and Freedom accounts with a Rs 40,000 or higher average balance. UBL, MCB and Meezan say alerts for digital transactions are free. We couldn’t confirm from HBL’s schedule whether its digital-transaction alerts are listed as free.
We only found ATM and transfer fees for these apps on third-party blogs, not in their own published schedules for this period, so we’ve left them out. For NayaPay and SadaPay’s own fee schedules, see NayaPay vs SadaPay.
We also couldn’t confirm how the Rs 35 ATM fee is split between the bank that owns the ATM and 1LINK, so we don’t state it.
More guides: best bank in Pakistan, Raast, Banking & Payments, Money.
As of the July to December 2026 schedules, HBL, UBL, MCB, Allied, Meezan, Bank Alfalah and NBP all charge Rs 35 per cash withdrawal at another bank's ATM. HBL, UBL, Allied, Meezan, Bank Alfalah and NBP charge nothing at their own ATMs. The fee was Rs 23.44 until it rose to Rs 35 on 1 August 2025.
Under SBP's PSD Circular 02 of 2021, the first Rs 25,000 you send to other banks each month is free. Above that, banks may charge 0.1% of the amount or Rs 200, whichever is lower. HBL, UBL, MCB, Allied, Meezan and NBP all use this formula in their July to December 2026 schedules.
Yes. SBP says there are currently no charges on Raast transactions, and UBL, MCB and Allied Bank list Raast transfers as free in their July to December 2026 schedules.
Under section 231AB of the Income Tax Ordinance, banks deduct 0.8% from people not on FBR's Active Taxpayers' List when their cash withdrawals in a day total more than Rs 50,000. Filers on the list pay no such tax.
As of July to December 2026, UBL's PayPak card costs Rs 2,000 a year and its Visa Premium Rs 2,900. HBL's PayPak Chip costs Rs 2,000 and Visa Chip Rs 3,000, and Meezan's PayPak costs Rs 2,500 and Visa Classic Rs 3,500. All three add taxes on top.
Photo by Eduardo Soares on Unsplash