Credit Cards & Insurance
Car insurance companies in Pakistan compared
11 motor insurers and takaful operators side by side: PACRA or VIS financial strength rating, rate quoted, tracker fee and online buying, Oct 2026.
Credit Cards & Insurance · Money
Annual fees, markup, foreign transaction charges and lounge access for 16 credit cards from 7 Pakistani banks, from their own fee documents, Oct 2026.
AI Summary
Across 16 cards from 7 banks, annual fees for the main card run from Rs 3,500 (Allied Bank Gold) to Rs 26,000 (Standard Chartered World), as of the banks' July to December 2026 fee documents. Markup for unpaid balances runs from 34% a year at Allied Bank to 49.99% at JS Bank, with Bank AL Habib showing 25%. Foreign transaction charges run from 4% to 6%, plus 0.5% advance tax for filers. MCB, Allied Bank and JS Bank cut or reverse the annual fee if you spend enough.
There is no single best credit card in Pakistan: it depends on whether you pay in full, travel or want lounges. On cost, the cheapest main card we found is Allied Bank Gold at Rs 3,500 a year. The lowest markup on unpaid balances is 34% a year, also at Allied Bank, against 42% to 49.99% at most other banks. Bank AL Habib shows 25% on an undated page. All figures come from each bank’s own fee document, as of October 2026.
Annual fee, main card
Rs 3,500 to Rs 26,000
Allied Bank Gold to Standard Chartered World, July–December 2026 fee documents, excluding FED
All figures are for the main (basic) card from the bank’s July–December 2026 schedule of charges, summary box or key fact statement, unless noted. Fees exclude FED (federal excise duty), which banks add on top. Markup is the yearly rate on any balance you don’t pay in full by the due date.
| Card | Annual fee | Markup (APR) | Foreign transaction charge | Lounge access listed by bank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Bank Visa Gold | Rs 3,500 | 34% | Up to 4% over the exchange rate | None listed |
| Allied Bank Visa Platinum | Rs 7,000 | 34% | Up to 4% over the exchange rate | Yes: CIP lounges in 5 cities, 6 LoungeKey visits a year, Priority Pass (visits charged) |
| JS Bank Classic | Rs 5,000 | 49.99% | Rs 450 or 5% | By card tier, via Visa Airport Companion app |
| JS Bank Platinum | Rs 15,000 | 49.99% | Rs 450 or 5% | By card tier, via Visa Airport Companion app |
| UBL Visa Classic | Rs 6,000 | 44% | Rs 100 or 4.5% | Not stated |
| UBL Visa Gold | Rs 12,000 | 44% | Rs 100 or 4.5% | Not stated |
| UBL Visa Platinum | Rs 22,000 | 44% | Rs 100 or 4.5% | Not stated |
| HBL Green | Rs 6,500 | up to 42% | 4% | None listed |
| HBL Gold | Rs 14,000 | up to 42% | 4% | CIP lounges in Pakistan |
| HBL Platinum | Rs 22,000 | up to 42% | 4% | Airport lounges |
| MCB Classic | Rs 7,000 | up to 44% | Rs 100 or 4% | None listed |
| MCB Gold | Rs 14,000 | up to 44% | Rs 100 or 4% | None listed |
| MCB Platinum | Rs 22,000 | up to 44% | Rs 100 or 4% | 6 free visits a year (Visa Airport Companion app) |
| Standard Chartered Platinum | Rs 20,000 | 45% | Re 1 per USD + up to 6% | Not stated in fee document |
| Standard Chartered World | Rs 26,000 | 45% | Re 1 per USD + up to 6% | 1,000+ lounges, up to 12 visits a year |
| Bank AL Habib Platinum* | Rs 20,000 | 25% | 4.5% | Yes (terms apply) |
*Bank AL Habib’s Platinum fee page shows no effective date. We list it as shown on 8 Oct 2026. Its main fee document for 2026 wasn’t available to us.
HBL also sells a FuelSaver card with a monthly fee instead of an annual one: Rs 350 a month for Green and Rs 700 for Gold.
Bank Alfalah’s website blocked us and Faysal Bank’s showed a bot check on 8 Oct 2026, so their cards are not in the table. Askari Bank’s card pages opened but its schedule of charges did not, so Askari appears only in the lounge table below.
None of the 16 cards above is free outright. Four banks cut or reverse the fee if you spend enough:
| Bank | What you must spend | What happens |
|---|---|---|
| MCB | Rs 50,000 (Classic), Rs 1.5 lakh (Gold), Rs 2.5 lakh (Platinum) within 60 days of the fee | Fee and FED reversed when you call |
| Allied Bank | Rs 25,000 (Gold) or Rs 50,000 (Platinum) within 3 months | Fee reversed |
| JS Bank | Rs 25,000 (Classic), Rs 50,000 (Gold), Rs 1 lakh (Platinum) in the first month after activation | Fee cut to Rs 1,200, Rs 1,800 or Rs 3,100 |
| Standard Chartered | Rs 2 lakh or 70% of limit (Platinum), Rs 3 lakh (World) within 3 months | First-year fee reversed |
Standard Chartered also reverses the first-year fee on any card applied for digitally, until 31 December 2026.
Check three things: the bank’s foreign transaction charge, the tax, and the spending limit.
Bank charge. HBL charges 4%, MCB 4% (minimum Rs 100) and Allied Bank up to 4% over the exchange rate. UBL and Bank AL Habib charge 4.5% and JS Bank 5% (minimum Rs 450). Standard Chartered adds Re 1 per US dollar plus up to 6%.
Tax. Under section 236Y, FBR collects advance income tax on card payments abroad: 0.5% if you are on the Active Taxpayer List (ATL, a filer) and 1% if not, as of FBR’s rate card for the Finance Act 2026. See filer vs non-filer.
Extra cost of paying abroad with an HBL card
4.5% to 5%
4% HBL bank charge + 0.5% tax as a filer, or + 1% as a non-filer
Limit. The State Bank caps card spending abroad at USD 30,000 a year per person, across all your debit and credit cards together (FE Circular 7 of 2022). The year runs from 1 November, and cards in your own name are for personal payments only.
| Card | What the bank lists |
|---|---|
| HBL Gold | Complimentary CIP lounges across Pakistan |
| HBL Platinum | Complimentary airport lounges |
| MCB Platinum | Up to 6 complimentary visits a year through the Visa Airport Companion app; Rs 1 per visit in Pakistan; international visits need USD 5 of foreign spending in the past 90 days |
| Allied Bank Platinum | CIP lounges in Lahore, Islamabad, Faisalabad, Peshawar and Multan; 6 free LoungeKey visits a year abroad; Priority Pass membership free, but each visit is charged |
| Standard Chartered World | 1,000+ airport lounges, capped at 12 visits a year |
| Bank AL Habib Platinum | Complimentary airport lounges (terms apply) |
| Askari Platinum | Lounges at all Pakistani airports on international travel, plus 1 guest; business lounges abroad; Rs 1 per person per visit |
| Askari World | Lounges at Pakistani airports on international travel (plus 2 guests) and at selected airports on domestic travel; business lounges abroad; Rs 1 per person per visit |
We found no student card at the banks we checked. Primary cards need you to be 21 or older with an income. HBL lets anyone 18 or older hold a supplementary card on another cardholder’s account, such as a parent’s. Supplementary fees are lower: Rs 900 a year for Allied Bank Gold and Rs 3,250 for HBL Green.
To apply, see how to apply for a credit card in Pakistan.
More guides: Cards & Insurance, how to become a filer, Money.
None of the 16 cards we checked is free outright. MCB reverses the fee if you spend Rs 50,000 (Classic) within 60 days, Allied Bank if you spend Rs 25,000 (Gold) within 3 months, and JS Bank cuts Classic to Rs 1,200 if you spend Rs 25,000 in the first month.
On cost, HBL (4%), MCB (4% or Rs 100) and Allied Bank (up to 4%) have the lowest foreign transaction charges we found. On top, filers pay 0.5% advance tax on card spending abroad and non-filers 1%.
HBL Gold and Platinum, MCB Platinum (6 free visits a year), Allied Bank Platinum, Standard Chartered World (12 visits a year), Bank AL Habib Platinum and Askari Platinum and World list lounge access, each with its own conditions.
Primary cards start at age 21 and need an income at the banks we checked. A student aged 18 or over can get a supplementary card on a parent's HBL card, and Allied Bank's supplementary Gold card costs Rs 900 a year.
No. HBL, UBL and Bank AL Habib publish fees excluding FED, and MCB adds FED to its annual fee. HBL's fee document says other fees carry up to 16% FED.
Photo: Hloom Templates / CC BY 2.0