MCB credit cards compared: fees, limits and which to pick
MCB credit card fees for July–December 2026: Classic, Gold and Platinum annual fees, how to get them reversed, 44% markup, limits and 4% foreign charge.
MCB issues three Visa credit cards: Classic, Gold and Platinum. As of its July to December 2026 Summary Box, annual fees are Rs 7,000, Rs 14,000 and Rs 22,000 plus FED, reversed if you spend Rs 50,000, Rs 150,000 or Rs 250,000 within 60 days. Unpaid balances and cash advances cost up to 44% a year. Foreign transactions cost 4% or Rs 100. Limits run from Rs 25,000 on Classic to Rs 30 lakh on Platinum, and Platinum adds 6 lounge visits a year.
An MCB credit card comes in three Visa types: Classic, Gold and Platinum. As of MCB’s July to December 2026 Summary Box, the annual fee is Rs 7,000, Rs 14,000 and Rs 22,000, plus FED. MCB reverses the fee if you spend Rs 50,000, Rs 150,000 or Rs 250,000 within 60 days of it being charged. Any balance you don’t pay in full costs up to 44% a year, so the right card depends on your spending and whether you pay in full.
Cost of carrying a balance on any MCB card
Up to 44% a year
3.67% a month, charged daily, on retail purchases you don't pay in full and on cash advances. From MCB's Summary Box and Schedule of Bank Charges, July to December 2026.
What are the MCB credit card charges in 2026?
The table puts MCB’s three cards side by side. All figures are from the Summary Box and the Schedule of Bank Charges for 1 July to 31 December 2026.
Classic
Gold
Platinum
Annual fee (basic)
Rs 7,000
Rs 14,000
Rs 22,000
Supplementary card
Rs 3,500 a year
Rs 7,000 a year
Rs 11,000 a year
Spend to reverse the basic fee (within 60 days)
Rs 50,000
Rs 150,000
Rs 250,000
Credit limit
Rs 25,000 to under Rs 1.5 lakh
Rs 1.5 lakh to Rs 10 lakh
Rs 4 lakh to Rs 30 lakh (Rs 70 lakh for Prime customers)
Card replacement
Rs 1,200
Rs 1,200
Rs 2,400
Lounge access
Not stated
Not stated
Up to 6 visits a year (Rs 1 each in Pakistan)
FED is added to the annual fee, and MCB says all its charges are subject to FED and government taxes. So expect to pay more than the table shows.
Fees have risen since 2024. In MCB’s July to December 2024 schedule, Gold cost Rs 11,000 and Platinum Rs 19,000 a year. Classic stayed at Rs 7,000.
How does the MCB credit card fee reversal work?
MCB charges the annual fee, then reverses it, with the FED on it, if you spend enough within 60 days of the charge. You have to call MCB’s call centre to ask for the reversal. As of July to December 2026, the spending needed is:
Classic
Gold
Platinum
Basic card
Rs 50,000
Rs 150,000
Rs 250,000
Supplementary card
Rs 10,000
Rs 25,000
Rs 50,000
By our calculation, that’s about Rs 25,000 a month for Classic, Rs 75,000 for Gold and Rs 125,000 for Platinum over the two months. If you won’t reach that, the fee is a real yearly cost.
Which MCB credit card is best?
None is best for everyone. On MCB’s published terms, the choice comes down to three things:
How much credit you need. Each card has its own limit band. Classic tops out below Rs 1.5 lakh, Gold at Rs 10 lakh and Platinum at Rs 30 lakh.
Whether you can hit the reversal spend. A card whose fee you get back costs you nothing to hold. A Platinum card you don’t spend Rs 250,000 on costs Rs 22,000 plus FED.
Travel. MCB’s lounge visit rules and travel advisory name only Platinum, and it earns up to 3x reward points at international hotels.
MCB doesn’t publish a minimum salary for any card on its site. If you’ll often carry a balance, the perks matter less than the markup, which is the same 44% a year on every card. Compare MCB with other banks in our credit cards compared guide, or see HBL credit cards and UBL credit cards.
What are the MCB Platinum credit card benefits?
As of 16 October 2026, MCB’s Platinum page lists:
Up to 6 complimentary lounge visits a calendar year through the Visa Airport Companion app, which covers over 1,200 lounges in 140+ countries. Each visit in Pakistan costs Rs 1. Abroad, you need at least US$5 of international spending in the 90 days before the visit. Extra visits are charged to you through the app.
3x reward points on international hotel stays, against 1 point per Rs 200 elsewhere.
Higher limits, from Rs 4 lakh up to Rs 30 lakh.
All three cards also come with free travel inconvenience insurance. It covers a flight delay of over 6 hours, baggage loss or damage, and baggage delay of over 6 hours, each up to Rs 100,000.
What is the MCB credit card markup?
As of 1 July 2026, MCB’s markup and main fees are:
Charge
Rate or fee
Retail purchases not paid in full
3.67% a month (up to 44% a year)
Cash advance
3.67% a month (44% a year) from the day you withdraw
Installment plans and cash advance in installments
3.25% a month (39% a year)
Balance transfer with installments (I-Switch)
2.25% a month (27% a year)
Late payment fee
Rs 2,500
Over-limit fee
Rs 1,500 each time
Pay the full bill by the due date and you get up to 50 days markup-free on purchases. The minimum payment is Rs 500 or 5% of the balance, whichever is higher.
If you pay only the minimum or part of the bill, markup is charged on the full balance from the transaction date until you pay. Then it runs on what’s left until the next statement. Your payment goes first to taxes, then markup, then fees, installments, cash and purchases last.
Other MCB card charges, as of 1 July 2026: bill payments by card Rs 10 or 1.5%, installment plan processing Rs 1,200 or 3%, and early payoff of an installment plan Rs 1,200 or 6% of what’s left, whichever is higher. SMS alerts and statements are free, and there’s no cancellation fee.
SBP has required banks since 1 September 2014 to give you a Summary Box with the APR, fees, limits and minimum payment before issuing a card. You sign it, and the bank keeps a copy. Read it before you sign.
What are MCB credit card charges on international transactions?
MCB charges 4% or Rs 100, whichever is higher, on transactions at international merchants, as of 1 July 2026. That includes foreign merchants you pay from inside Pakistan, such as foreign websites. In July to December 2024 the rate was 4.4%.
MCB settles foreign card transactions by buying dollars in the open market. If that rate differs from the rupee amount shown when you paid, MCB charges the difference separately on your statement.
How much does MCB charge for cash withdrawal on a credit card?
A cash advance costs Rs 1,200 or 3% of the amount, whichever is higher, as of 1 July 2026. The 44% a year markup runs daily from the day you withdraw, with no markup-free period.
You can take out up to 70% of your credit limit in cash, subject to your available credit. Our calculation: on Rs 20,000, 3% is Rs 600, so you’d pay the Rs 1,200 minimum. The 3% only applies above Rs 40,000.
What are the MCB credit card limits?
As of the July to December 2026 Summary Box, each card has its own limit band:
Classic: Rs 25,000 to under Rs 1.5 lakh
Gold: Rs 1.5 lakh to Rs 10 lakh
Platinum: Rs 4 lakh to Rs 30 lakh, or up to Rs 70 lakh for MCB’s Prime customers
You can apply for a limit enhancement in the MCB Live app. Up to 5 supplementary cards share your limit, and their spending counts against it.
How do MCB credit card reward points work?
You earn 1 point for every Rs 200 of retail spending. Each point is worth Rs 0.40 as cashback, which you can take once you have 1,000 points, up to 50,000 points a month. You can also swap points for products in the MCB eMarket catalogue. Redeem them in MCB’s Credit Card portal (cconline.mcb.com.pk), which also shows your points.
Our calculation: that’s a return of about 0.2% of what you spend. You need Rs 200,000 of spending to reach 1,000 points, which gives Rs 400 cashback.
How do I apply for an MCB credit card?
Pick the card. Choose by the limit you need and whether you’ll reach the fee-reversal spend. MCB doesn’t publish minimum salary rules on its site, so ask before applying.
Apply. You can apply for a new card in the MCB Live app. Roshan Digital Account holders can email scanned forms, a CNIC, NICOP or passport copy, and a signed Summary Box.
Sign the Summary Box. It lists the fees, markup, limits and minimum payment. Keep your copy.
Turn on what you need. Use MCB Live or the Credit Card portal to turn on international use. The portal also generates your tax certificate.
For what banks check in general, including your credit record, see how to apply for a credit card. MCB reports card balances to SBP’s credit bureau (e-CIB), so a default can affect future loans.
Does MCB deduct tax on credit card spending?
Two kinds of tax can apply. FED is added to the annual fee, and MCB says all charges are subject to FED and government taxes. On spending abroad, banks collect advance income tax under section 236Y: 0.5% if you are on FBR’s Active Taxpayer List (ATL) and 1% if you are not, as of FBR’s rate card updated for the Finance Act 2026.
You can generate a withholding tax certificate in MCB’s Credit Card portal. For how filer status changes what you pay, see filer vs non-filer.
What is the MCB credit card fee reversal criteria?
Spend Rs 50,000 on Classic, Rs 150,000 on Gold or Rs 250,000 on Platinum within 60 days of the annual fee being charged, then call MCB's call centre. The fee and the FED on it are reversed. Supplementary cards need Rs 10,000, Rs 25,000 or Rs 50,000, as of July to December 2026.
What are MCB credit card charges in 2026?
As of July to December 2026, annual fees are Rs 7,000, Rs 14,000 and Rs 22,000 plus FED. Markup is up to 44% a year, foreign transactions cost 4% or Rs 100, a cash advance costs Rs 1,200 or 3%, and a late payment costs Rs 2,500.
Does the MCB credit card give airport lounge access?
MCB Platinum gives up to 6 complimentary visits a calendar year through the Visa Airport Companion app. Each visit in Pakistan costs Rs 1. Abroad, you need at least US$5 of international spending in the 90 days before the visit.
What is the MCB Gold credit card limit?
Rs 1.5 lakh to Rs 10 lakh, as of the July to December 2026 Summary Box. Classic runs from Rs 25,000 to under Rs 1.5 lakh, and Platinum from Rs 4 lakh to Rs 30 lakh, or up to Rs 70 lakh for MCB's Prime customers.
How do I redeem MCB credit card points?
Use MCB's Credit Card portal (cconline.mcb.com.pk). Once you have 1,000 points you can take cashback at Rs 0.40 a point, or pick a product from the MCB eMarket catalogue. You earn 1 point for every Rs 200 you spend.
No single best credit card in Pakistan: annual fees, markup, foreign charges and lounge access for 16 cards from 7 banks, from their fee documents, Oct 2026.
To apply for a credit card in Pakistan you need age 21+, a minimum income (Rs 20,000 to Rs 35,000 a month at entry tier), CNIC, salary proof and clean eCIB.