# Open a bank account online in Pakistan: digital accounts compared

URL: https://which.pk/money/guides/open-bank-account-online/
Author: Hassam Imtiaz
Updated: 15 Oct 2026

## Summary

Yes, you can open a bank account online in Pakistan with a CNIC. Under SBP's July 2025 framework, banks must accept or decline your application within two working days and give you a tracking ID. You need a SIM registered in your name, a live photo and NADRA biometric verification, often done in the app. An Asaan Digital Account needs no income proof and is capped at Rs 3 million balance and Rs 1 million debits a month. HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied and Bank Alfalah all offer it.

## Key facts

- Decision time: Max 2 working days (SBP)
- What you need: CNIC, SIM in your name, live photo
- Asaan Digital limits: Rs 3m balance, Rs 1m debit/month
- Opening deposit: None at UBL and Meezan (Asaan)

Yes, you can open a bank account online in Pakistan without visiting a branch. Digital account opening needs your **CNIC**, a mobile SIM registered in your own name, a live photo and **NADRA biometric verification**, which many banks do inside their app. Under SBP's July 2025 rules, the bank must accept or decline your application within **two working days** of getting complete documents. HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied Bank and Bank Alfalah all offer it.

**Asaan Digital Account limits (SBP, July 2025):** Rs 3 million balance · Rs 1 million debits a month (The regulatory ceiling under SBP's Consolidated Customer Onboarding Framework. Some bank pages still show the older Rs 1 million balance cap; your bank must tell you its limits during sign-up.)

## Can I open a bank account online in Pakistan?

Yes. On 25 July 2025, the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) issued a Consolidated Customer Onboarding Framework and said customers can now open all types of accounts through digital means. It lets banks open accounts through a website, a mobile app, a digital kiosk or another approved digital channel.

Digital opening is only for people with a CNIC, NICOP, POC, POR or ARC. The same rules cover banks, microfinance banks, digital banks and electronic money institutions (EMIs, such as wallet apps).

The framework replaced SBP's 2022 digital onboarding rules. That is why some bank pages still show older limits and timelines, covered below.

## What do you need for digital account opening?

What you need depends on the account type.

| Account | What you provide |
|---|---|
| Asaan Digital Account | CNIC, live photo, and a self-declaration of residency, source of income or funds and beneficial ownership instead of income documents |
| Regular digital current or savings account | CNIC and live photo, plus proof of profession and source of income or funds from SBP's list |
| Freelancer digital account | Opened with a linked foreign currency account (ESFCA); see below |

Bank pages add their own details:

- **UBL Asaan Digital Account:** a digital copy of your CNIC, a mobile number registered to your CNIC, a digital copy of your signature and a camera for a live photo. No proof of income.
- **UBL Digital Account (regular):** CNIC copy, mobile number on your CNIC, email address, proof of income or funds, a live webcam photo and a photo of your signature on white paper.
- **Meezan:** any resident Pakistani with a valid CNIC and a SIM in their own name can apply. Its 2024 FAQ says no documents are needed for Digital Asaan, Remittance or Freelancer accounts, while regular Rupee and Bachat accounts need a CNIC scan or photo plus source of income and proof of funds.
- **HBL Asaan Digital Account:** opens with just an identity document (CNIC, SNIC or POC).
- **MCB:** says all you need is your CNIC.

Banks must also record the location or IP address of the device you apply from. Meezan's app asks you to turn on location as its first step.

## How does biometric verification work when you open online?

SBP's 2025 rules require NADRA biometric verification before an account opens. It can be a fingerprint, iris or facial check, done in the app, at a branch or by another approved method. Facial recognition applies once NADRA's facial check is working.

The bank also takes a live photo and matches it with the picture on your ID. If biometrics aren't possible, for example because of a disability, unclear fingerprints or age over 60, SBP sets a fallback order:

**Older pages still mention 60 days:** UBL's pages and Meezan's 2024 FAQ say you can complete biometrics up to 60 days after opening, or the account is blocked. That was the 2022 rule. Under the 2025 framework, biometric at sign-up is the normal route, and a debit block applies if it is skipped. Do the biometric step when the app asks.

## How long does digital account opening take?

SBP's ceiling is **two working days** from the time the bank has your complete documents. The bank must give you a tracking ID, and if it declines, it must tell you why in writing. You can also save an online application and come back to it within 30 days without starting again.

Banks make faster claims. Meezan says accounts open instantly, subject to checks, and cases needing extra checks within 2 working days. MCB says its account opens in minutes. UBL emails your account number once your details are verified. Treat these as the banks' claims and two working days as the limit SBP enforces.

## Which banks let you open an account online?

All six of the banks we checked do, through either an app or a web portal, as of October 2026.

| Bank | Where you apply | Asaan Digital limit shown by the bank | Opening deposit | Existing customers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HBL | Web portal (digitalonboarding.hbl.com) | Rs 3 million balance, Rs 1 million debits a month | Not stated | Asaan Digital is new-to-bank only |
| UBL | Browser on laptop or phone (Chrome recommended) | FAQ says Rs 1 million; banner says Rs 3 million | None | Asaan Digital is new customers only |
| MCB | MCB Live app | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Meezan | Meezan Digital app | Rs 1 million (August 2025 page) | None | New customers only |
| Allied Bank | Online portal from abl.com | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bank Alfalah | RAPID web portal | Rs 3 million balance, Rs 1 million debits a month | No minimum balance | Not stated |

Where a bank shows a lower limit than SBP's Rs 3 million, it is the older 2022 cap. SBP requires every bank to tell you the limits on your account during sign-up, so check that screen.

**Account types on offer:**

- **HBL:** Asaan Digital, Asaan Digital Remittance, Freelancer, Freedom, foreign currency current and savings, Nisa, Mahana Amdan, MoneyClub and conventional current. HBL's Asaan Digital is a current account only, with a PayPak debit card free for the first year.
- **UBL:** Asaan Digital Account (works on a phone) and a regular Digital Account, conventional or Islamic, that UBL says is designed for desktop or laptop browsers. Both come with a choice of debit cards and no minimum balance.
- **MCB:** MCB Asaan Digital Current Account, MCB Asaan Digital Remittance Current Account and a freelancer current account in rupees.
- **Meezan:** Digital Asaan, Digital Remittance and Digital Freelancer (current or savings), Rupee Current, Rupee Savings, Bachat and Roshan Digital, per its 2024 FAQ.
- **Allied Bank (myPakistan Digital Account):** Asaan Digital, Asaan Digital Remittance, Freelancer Digital, savings and current. Its page, last updated January 2026, lists no documents, limits, timing or charges.
- **Bank Alfalah:** Asaan Digital Current and Savings, Asaan Digital Remittance, Freelancer Digital (current or savings) with a linked foreign currency account (ESFCA), and Asaan Pehchaan Digital Savings.

Comparing the banks themselves on fees, branches and apps? See [the best bank in Pakistan](/money/guides/best-bank-in-pakistan/) and [Meezan Bank vs other banks](/money/guides/meezan-bank-vs-other-banks/).

## How do you open a Meezan account online?

Meezan's August 2025 page lists these steps in the Meezan Digital app:

1. **Turn on location** on your phone.
2. **Verify your mobile number** with the OTP.
3. **Enter your CNIC details.**
4. **Give your occupation details.**
5. **Do the biometric verification** in the app.
6. **Take a live selfie.**
7. **Review and submit.**

If the in-app biometric fails, Meezan's 2024 FAQ says you need to provide a CNIC scan or photo. You can request a debit card in the app, at a branch or through the helpline 021-111-331-331. To collect a cheque book, you need your original CNIC and a signature specimen.

Bank Alfalah's RAPID portal follows a shorter outline: apply, upload your ID and other documents, the bank verifies, then you get an activation confirmation.

## Can you open a bank account online with zero balance?

Yes, at several banks. UBL's Asaan Digital Account needs no initial deposit and has no minimum balance. Meezan's Digital Asaan Account needed no initial deposit as of August 2025. Bank Alfalah's Asaan Digital Current Account has no minimum balance and a free first cheque book, SMS alerts and e-statements.

HBL, MCB and Allied Bank's pages don't state an opening deposit. Card and other fees follow each bank's schedule of charges, which we didn't check for this guide.

## What are the Asaan Digital Account limits?

Under SBP's 2025 framework, an Asaan account (opened digitally or in person) is:

- **Rupees only**, for resident Pakistanis.
- Capped at a **Rs 3 million** balance and **Rs 1 million** of debits a month.
- **Not for commercial remittances.** HBL and Bank Alfalah allow home (inward) remittances.
- **One per person per bank.**

You can convert an Asaan Digital Account into a regular digital account later, after the bank does extra checks. The bank must allow this. Under the old 2022 rules, the balance cap was Rs 1 million, which is the figure still shown on UBL's FAQ and Meezan's 2025 page.

## Can freelancers open a bank account online?

Yes. Under SBP's 2025 framework, a freelancer account is a rupee account opened together with an Exporter's Special Foreign Currency Account (ESFCA), a foreign currency account at a bank authorised to deal in foreign exchange. You can't withdraw foreign currency cash in Pakistan from the ESFCA.

HBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied Bank and Bank Alfalah list freelancer accounts for digital opening. Meezan's 2024 FAQ says its Digital Freelancer Account doesn't need SIM verification. For how this fits with Payoneer, Wise and other payout routes, see [freelancer payment methods in Pakistan](/business/guides/freelancer-payment-methods-pakistan/) and [dollar accounts in Pakistan](/money/guides/dollar-account-pakistan/).

**What we couldn't confirm:** We couldn't confirm how debit cards are delivered or how long that takes at any of the six banks, or their current card fees. Bank Alfalah's and Meezan's sites block automated access, so we read archived copies of their pages from May 2026 and August 2025.

More guides: [digital banks in Pakistan](/money/guides/digital-banks-pakistan/), [NayaPay vs SadaPay](/money/guides/nayapay-vs-sadapay/), [Banking & Payments](/money/banking/), [Money](/money/).

## Questions people ask

### Can I open a bank account online in Pakistan without visiting a branch?

Yes. SBP's July 2025 framework lets banks open accounts through websites and apps for CNIC holders, and HBL, UBL, MCB, Meezan, Allied and Bank Alfalah all offer it. You need a SIM registered in your own name, a live photo and NADRA biometric verification, which can be done in the app.

### What documents are required for digital account opening?

For an Asaan Digital Account, usually just your CNIC, plus a live photo and a self-declaration instead of income proof. Regular digital current or savings accounts also need proof of profession and source of income or funds: UBL asks for proof of income, and Meezan for source of income and proof of funds.

### How long does it take to open a bank account online?

SBP requires banks to accept or decline an individual's application within two working days of receiving complete documents, and to give you a tracking ID. Meezan says its accounts open instantly, subject to checks, and MCB says minutes, but two working days is the ceiling SBP sets.

### What are the limits on an Asaan Digital Account?

Under SBP's 2025 framework, an Asaan account can hold up to Rs 3 million and allows Rs 1 million of debits a month, with no commercial remittances. Some bank pages still show the older Rs 1 million balance cap, so check the limit the bank shows you during sign-up.

### Can I open a digital account at Meezan, UBL or HBL if I already bank with them?

Not through these products. Meezan's digital app accounts, UBL's Asaan Digital Account and HBL's Asaan Digital Account are for new-to-bank customers only.

## Sources

- [Consolidated Customer Onboarding Framework (BPRD Circular No. 01 of 2025)](https://www.sbp.org.pk/bprd/2025/C1-Consolidated-Customer-Onboarding-Framework.pdf), State Bank of Pakistan (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [SBP Simplified Account Opening for Individuals and Businesses (press release, 25 July 2025)](https://www.sbp.org.pk/press/2025/Pr1-25-JuL-2025.pdf), State Bank of Pakistan (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [Customers' Digital Onboarding Framework, revised 30 April 2022 (superseded)](https://www.sbp.org.pk/bprd/2022/CL15-Annex.pdf), State Bank of Pakistan (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [UBL Asaan Digital Account](https://ubldigital.com/UBL-Asaan-Digital-Account), United Bank Limited (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [UBL Digital Account](https://ubldigital.com/ubl-digital-account), United Bank Limited (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [HBL Asaan Digital Account](https://www.hbl.com/personal/accounts/hbl-digital-accounts/hbl-asaan-digitalaccount), HBL (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [HBL Digital Account](https://www.hbl.com/personal/digital-banking/digital-banking/hbl-digital-account), HBL (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [MCB Digital Onboarding](https://www.mcb.com.pk/personal/digital-banking/digital-onboarding), MCB Bank (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [myPakistan Digital Account](https://www.abl.com/personal/digital-banking-services/myabl-digital-banking/mypakistan-digital-account/), Allied Bank Limited (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [Meezan Digital Asaan Account (Internet Archive capture, 10 Aug 2025)](https://web.archive.org/web/20250810063037/https://www.meezanbank.com/digital-asaan-account/), Meezan Bank (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [FAQs of Meezan Digital Account Opening App (Internet Archive capture, 11 Jun 2024)](https://web.archive.org/web/20240611001226/https://www.meezanbank.com/wp-content/themes/mbl/downloads/meezan-digital-account-FAQs.pdf), Meezan Bank (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
- [Bank Alfalah Asaan Digital Current Account (Internet Archive capture, 17 May 2026)](https://web.archive.org/web/20260517085557/https://www.bankalfalah.com/personal-banking/deposit-accounts/digital-accounts/bank-alfalah-asaan-digital-current-account), Bank Alfalah (accessed 15 Oct 2026)
